Coney Island’s Winter Hibernation

[Originally written 1.5.03]

Out of boredom, I loaded a new roll of film into my camera and went to visit Coney.  Of course it started snowing the instant that I headed out, but that did not deter me one bit.  I was just hoping it would stay light enough for me to capture some good images.

The drive over the Verizzano was quite odd.  Nothing but clouds on either side.  I could only see land when I was right on top of it.

Took a ton of Cyclone photos.  Damn that fence tho.  I really wanted to get tight pix of the turns and the way the track is pitched.  Someday I’m going to find a way to get permission to photograph the coaster from the inside of the fence.  None the less, I did my best, my fingers going numb from the cold.  [Stupid me took my nice warm leather gloves out of my shoulder bag and forgot to put them back. *d’oh*]  I hopped back in my car and re-parked by the still under construction Parachute Jump, which has less to it than the last time I was there [in November].  My camera was being an ass for some reason.  The battery might be low or something.  Despite the growing numbness in my fingers—fingers? what fingers?—I used the rest of the film on the Parachute Jump and some snowy shots of the boardwalk.

As usual, I didn’t want to leave.  Why can’t I just wave a magic wand and *poof* be exactly where I want to be?

Anyway, I decided to buy Coney Island: Lost & Found on Amazon.com, as I’ve heard everyone raving about it.  I finished Coney Island: The People’s Playground, and while I personally enjoyed it, the review of it on Amazon.com was less than pleasant.  Guess I haven’t read too many books about the Island, but then again, everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

Opted for the one day shipping, and the site said it will arrive between January 20-24.  Um, then why have people choose the one day shipping if it doesn’t come that quick? Whatever, at least it’s coming.  Saves me the trouble of having to go out to numerous bookstores searching for it.

That’s about it.  It’s cold and snowing.

[Originally written 2.5.03]

Been absorbing Coney Island: Lost and Found.  Damn good book.  Sad too.  I haven’t gotten past the chapter about the demise of Steeplechase.  It’s just really heartbreaking to read how fast the area declined, thanks in part to assholes like Robert Moses and Fred Trump, who actually invited people to hurl bricks at the Steeplechase Pavillion.  One of the saddest parts is the death of the Thunderbolt, which strikes a particular chord in my being.  I still feel lucky to have seen it before it died.  And I’ll never forget that last nite of the season, when we walked past it and heard a noise.

Only one more month before Coney Island is up and running for the season.  I can’t wait.  Will be making my monthly trip there in the near future.  Want to see the progress of the Parachute Jump.

Nothing else to report.

Feedback Appreciated

