Anti-V’Day Sentiments ’06

[Originally written 1.27.06]

Once again it is that time of year.  No longer is the Internet safe, as the Invasion of the Gooey Pink has claimed another victim.  MySpace is littered with promising ads that are such an irresistible temptation.

Have we as a society and intelligent people become so disillusioned with love and romance that we must now depend on not being single during such a ridiculous ‘holiday’?  Where did this need to be loved come from, and why are people so desperate to be with someone?

I have some great news for you, and no, it has nothing to do with how I just save a ton of money by switching to Geico.

There is no shame in being single for Valentine’s Day.  In fact, I encourage everyone to refuse to even participate in observing these asinine rituals.  Maybe I missed the memo that said the amount of love one has for another is weighed by the monetary value that is given in the form of cards, chocolate, roses, diamonds and so forth.  This makes me laugh and perhaps even pity the poor fools that are sucked into this wretched corporate hype.  You do not have to succumb to the pressure of society and express your feelings with meaningless stuff that will likely be forgotten by the time the next absurd ‘holiday’ rolls around.  There is so much more value I find in things that most people would not even give a second look to, which include emotions that I have held for a specific individual.  No amount of cards or stuffed animals are going to equate these feelings, nor do I need to rely on them in order to communicate to him.  In fact, I kind of enjoy that I just know things and appreciate them for what they are without having to apply reason or meaning.  Love might not be simple, but when you find yourself consumed by it and unable to describe exactly what you are feeling, you understand that it is perfectly okay to just let go.

The opinions that I have on Valentine’s Day are ones that I have had for a long time, whether I was with someone or not, and my current relationship status does not make my feelings any less genuine.  To be honest, I find it absurd that there is this pressure for people o show their heart-felt emotion with materialistic things.  Of course it is nice to be on the receiving end of a gift that is given with no strings attached and are certainly something I am greatly appreciated of.  However, I do not see that this is something which should be necessary on one specific day.  It is much more enjoyable to hear encouraging words when I am feeling less than great about myself, or to find an e-mail inviting me for an unknown adventure.

At the moment I am trying to figure out what is worse – having to be exposed to all the crap currently being sold in the stores, or seeing it still hanging around until the end of the month.  It is a point I find needs repeating because people get the wrong impression about my feelings towards Valentine’s Day.  While I may have accepted gifts from my Dad, I certainly did not ask or expect them from people I was in a relationship with.  There was no desire to be assured I was loved, though looking back I should have known that they were not as meaningful as I wanted them to be.  However, since there is no guide on how to create long-lasting relationships, I am pretty certain just about everyone understands the difficulties in finding true love.

The notion that one has to be in a relationship in order to participate in Valentine’s Day is absolutely ridiculous.  No one is going to make me feel bad because I am taking time to focus on myself, which I feel is important to grow as a person.  Maybe at this moment I need to be single and should not be shamed for my opinions.  There is no jealousy or envy towards those who receive gifts for V’Day, and the same can be said for any holiday where that seems to be one the main motivating factors that causes people to observe them.

Looking back on last year’s sentiments, I have to admit that this makes a great card:

Love doesn’t come pre-packed, ready and available for purchase at the local store.

Love should not be weighed by the amount of gifts received, nor by the size of them.

Love is a feeling, often elusive, that fills us with this incredible and indescribable warmth.

Well, I am going to observe my annual tradition of protest with my best friend, and I am sure that we can find a way to blatantly display our opposition of such a silly tradition.

Feedback Appreciated

