Adventure in the City

[Originally written 3.10.03]

Departed lodging around quarter to twelve and managed to reach the diner in a decent amount of  time.  Met up with Jon [read: benefactor] in the parking lot, and then we went inside to grab  some lunch, because we would need fuel to walk around the City.  Hauled ass into Newark.  All was well until I had to find parking.

There’s a taxi sitting in the middle of the right turn lane.  Now ordinarily, I would have just went around it.  However, the taxi was sitting right in front of a sign that clearly said NO STOPPING.  Unless the useless bastard couldn’t read, why are you going to park right next a sign that says you can’t?  So being the asshole that I am, I blared my horn and we shouted at him, pointing to the sign when he waved at me to go around, as tho he could hear me.  This obnoxiousness continued until he pulled around the corner, and as I drove passed him by, Jon and I pointed to the sign, then we flipped him off.  [He had rolled down his window, tho I couldn’t care less what he had to say, as I would’ve likely shouted that he was an asinine twat for not reading the sign that was right in front of his face.]  That little incident made us laugh tho.  Stupidity is encouraged…it makes for good fodder.

Should have dressed warmer to go into the City, but I convinced myself it was going to be warm.  We were passing people on the streets that are all bundled up.  My stupid ass is trying to keep warm in the leather jacket that doesn’t zip up; no hat [a raggedy skull-print bandana does NOT count as a hat], scarf or gloves.  Did not let it bother me tho.

Made it to Unimax feeling very numb all over, and Jon is cracking jokes to keep my mood positive.  As we’re checking out the jewelry, I get blindsided by some unknown person.  And…oh…my…goodness.  Out of all the people to possibly run into while purchasing needles and jewelry, it was Mike—an old high school friend I hadn’t seen in a dog’s age.  He was just as surprized to see me, especially with Jon.

The three of us walked and talked for a while; he was sweet enough to offer us a ride back to my car [parked in Newark].  I hate the distance that forms between us, as everytime I see him, it’s by some absurd twist of Fate, but I always appreciate the time we have.  He is one of those people that opens my eyes and helps me see who I really am.  [Shame on me forgetting that.]

We just had random discussions about everything possible.  Jon invited him to come with us to Coney Island, but he had to call into work, otherwise he would have said yes.  However, he did say that someday he really would like to go, so plans will be made in the future.  Mentioned that we have been doing sideshow, suggesting that he should come check it out, and he thought the whole thing sounded really awesome.

Anyway, Jon and I had to get over the bridges before there was too much traffic, and Mike had to head off to work.  Before going our separate ways,  he apologised for loosing touch, but I said it was alright.  Have always been the kind of person that understand shit happens in people’s lives and the world doesn’t revolve around me.  Mike said he would try to stay in touch, but we will see if that actually happens.

The journey to Coney Island was not an easy one.  I swear, every vehicle on the road was trying to hit us.  Traffic galore on 1&9.  Then easy going to the Goethals, until after the toll.  The traffic was dense almost all the way to the Verizzano.  Why?  Apparently people don’t know how to read.  There are numerous signs that warn you of a merge ahead, and yet people decide that this does not apply to them.  Then they try to squeeze and nudge their way in front of you.  How about piss off?  You chose that lane, now you have sit in it.  If you want to be an asshole and gain that 0.000000000000000000001 of a second by cutting in front of me, be my guest.  Sooner or later, the only thing you will be on time for is your own funeral.

Going over the Verizzano was no problem, but I ran into traffic all the way to Cropsey Ave.  How I survived without totally losing it and driving like the rest of the agressive people, I’ll never know.  Perhaps having Jon provide much smoking of joints helped.

There was plenty of light for photos, which was good as the boardwalk was covered with much ice.  Slid once, but Jon caught me before I fell, as I was in no mood to bust my ass, tho there really wasn’t anyone around to see me if I did.  *heh*  Took a few pics of the still dismantled Parachute Jump, a few of the snow covered beach—complete with plastic palm tree, a few of the deserted Thunderbolt grave site and spent the rest on the newly landmarked Child’s restaurant.  We never really ventured down that end of the boardwalk before, and I had to scold myself for not doing so, as the building is such a great work of art.  Was dying for a bathroom and it started to get cold, so I took one last shot of the fading sunset, a few long shots of Astroland and one of the Playland building from accross the street before happily climbing back into my car.  Next trip out will be earlier in the day and focus on the Bowery, as I am trying to capture every prominant feature of Coney Island in all my shoots.

Encountered more traffic on the way back to Jersey, which was hell because I really had to pee.  [What I didn’t understand, is that there were bathrooms on the boardwalk, but none of them were open.]  Fought my way thru traffic and sped towards the Jeresey City mall, practically running to the bathroom.

Feeling better, we stopped in HT for a moment to purchase the $25 scully I saw there on a previous visit.  Wandered around for a bit longer to just window shop and talk shit about the people before leaving, and unfortunately I had to come back to the house to make nice with mom and pack for the weekend.

This concluded my Friday, and I had fun.  Spent almost all my money.  So what?  At least I got out of the house, I didn’t have to go to school and I calmed the urge inside me to visit Coney Island.  We will definitely be going again before the season starts [a month from this Thursday to be exact].  Had a random encounter with Mike after not seeing him for way too long, and as always, he helped me to realise I have to be true to my Self.  Once I have a steady income, I can start doing that.  Last but not least, I got to spend a wonderful afternoon with Jon, tho our adventures were only beginning.

Part II of the weekend

Not being able to sleep and wait for Jon to call, I readied myself and headed out.  Stopped in at CVS, hoping to score some smokes, tho I should know better by now that all the kids buy them up, as they were all sold out of the ones I wanted.  Settled for some cigarello’s, but didn’t like them as much as the regular ones I buy.  Might go one day during the week to see if they are back in stock.

The drive down to South Jersey is never really that interesting.  Sure, there’s some trees and ground and other cars.  Probly the best part is actually getting to Avalon, as it’s one of those towns literally on the Shore, far removed from everything.  Which would bother some people, but it gives me peace compared to the constant hub of activity I find myself surrounded by.

Jon was already cooking breakfast when I wandered in, and joked that I must have gotten his telepathic message to come down.  We mainly smoked ourselves stupid, watched horror movies all day and talked about random things.

We had one discussion that stands out, because it was just so hilarious.  He was telling me about the teeth the dentist made for him and how he didn’t like the fit.  [Long story short, he had a couple in front knocked out back in the day, and needed to have some new ones due to growing out of the old ones.]  Somehow it spawned from me mentioning the BME BBQ that’s going to be in Jersey.  He was joking that he has another body mod aside from what’s already visible, and that would be his teeth.  So then I suggested he should look into getting custom made teeth that have gems and whatnot in them.  *harhar*  He said he could get some silver teeth or something like that.  The more I thought about it, the more ridiculous it sounded.

Somewhere during the nite he decides to roll a couple of blunts—real ones—and break out the 40s.  Which lead to more interesting conversations as we sat outside in lawn chairs and gazed at the ocean.  The dawn of a new ‘scene’ or ‘genre’ or whatever you want to call it.  It will be loud.  It will be crude.  It will be 100% DIY.  It will be completely ghetto fabulous, yo.  It will be a riot!

Sunday was spent pretty much the same way.  Smoked ourselves stupid and consumed coffee spiked with Bailey’s.

Then Jon suddenly hits me with the notion that he would like to move away from here [read: Jersey] and go somewhere with me.  Considering we were fairly high and semi-drunk, I didn’t put much thought into this nor did we disscuss it further.  Sort of was just something he blurted out and then pretended was never said, so I left it at that.

Before I departed, he asked if he could see me during the week.  This piqued my curiosity.  There are a variety reasons as to why we haven’t really seen each other that often in the past.  Come to think of it, this is the longest he’s been around in the past couple of years that we have been friends.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy spending time with him, because he is my best friend and I wouldn’t ever complain about seeing him too much.  It just struck me as odd…and I do kind of sort of have a relationship with the Asshole.  Didn’t say yes or no…or much of anything while he hugged me tightly.

We parted ways on that note, and it has been eating at me since.  Even now, I’m starting to recall various points of our drunken conversation over the weekend.  He confessed that he gets lonely sometimes, even scared at nite.  What am I supposed to say to that?   While I have stated here that I consider myself single, I am still making visits to the alleged ex and weird things happen which lead me to think we are together even tho we are not really dating in my opinion.

It’s not something I really want to think about too much, but it’s hard to keep thoughts completely blocked out.

2 comments on “Adventure in the City

  1. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post

  2. Usually I don’t learn from posts on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up surprised me. Thank you, very nice article.

Feedback Appreciated

