Adventures of the Week

[Originally written 5.5.03]

Tuesday nite I was more than thrilled to drive down to South Jersey to hang out with Jon. Watched Battle Royale, which was hilarious with much death.  Especially enjoyed the fact that right before the people died, they had just enough strength to say one final thing. The last death scene was the best. Also watched Requiem For a Dream.  Despite what opinion others may hold about the film, I don’t think I could ever grow tired of it. Probly because it has great footage of the Thunderbolt and Coney Island.  He had the brilliant idea of following along with some of the things they did in the movie, which made for an interesting experience.

Wednesday I went out with my sister. Wandered around Menlo Park mall for awhile. Went to Vintage Vinyl and just had to get the Requiem For a Dream soundtrack. The music in that movie was just too good to resist. Poked at the small furry animals.

Friday was pretty boring. Dropped off an application for working purposes and have an interview tomorrow at three. I am really hoping that I land a position. I need to work. Pierced another hole in each ear, which turned out quite well.

Saturday I went to Coney Island. What else did I have to do?  Hooked up with Jon somewhere along the way, which made the whole trip that much better.  Sat under the boardwalk and smoked a blunt, enjoying the view of the sandy beach that stretched all around us. Wandered the amusement  area and took some pictures.  It s been awhile since I have seen a sunset there, and even longer since I have seen the rides lit up. We were approached by some Russian guy who decided to walk with us for a while, so we educated him about the Island.

We departed around eight or something like that, as most of the amusements were closed or closing. The Jumbo Jet is now gone and had been replaced by a myriad of kiddie rides. Caught some fireworks that mysteriously appeared in Hillside and then we hit up the North Arlington diner for some food.  Our conversation focused on how sad Coney Island was becoming, since the B & B Carousel was gone and now the Jubo Jet had  been dismantled.  At least the Cyclone, Wonder Wheel and Parachute Jump would always remain vigilant, but it is still disheartening to witness the slow demise of what used to be a great amusement area.  People have no idea what they are missing, and honestly, I feel as tho they don’t really care either.

We sat in the parking lot for about half an hour trying to say good-bye.  No matter how much fun I seem to have with Jon, there comes that inevitable moment where we have to part.  Every now and then, when I gaze into his eyes, there is a slight bit a of pain buried deep beneath the vibrant windows to his soul.  It is a feeling I know we both share but rarely talk about, because then things just weird and awkward.  However, I would be lying if I said it didn’t effect me, or that I wanted to know what weighed so heavily on his mind, since he didn’t say much.  He just took me in his arms as he usually does, kissed my forehead and told me to be safe.

Sunday was another day out and about. Went to Wal*Mart to have the Coney Island photos developed. Then went to Cost Cutters where I scored some cheap sunblock and nail polish.  It’s really cool. You put on a base coat and while it’s wet, you apply the second color. As it dries, it cracks and you can see the base coat thru the cracks. Also went to Sally’s and bought my sister hair dye. What can I say, I was feeling charitable. I know how much she hates her natural color, and she couldn’t really afford to buy anything, so I paid for it. Went back to her apartment and dyed her hair. It’s this really pretty red now. She’s happy and of course that makes me happy.

Today has been pretty unproductive.  However, I did manage to finish copying my book and have been adding to it ever since.

Other than that, I was quite tempted to split my face open on Friday. What stopped me was not realization that I would be hurting myself. Come on, I recently pierced two holes in my ears, so obviously I am not afraid of the pain. I just knew there would be too many damn questions that I didn’t feel like putting up with, so I decided against it.  However, that doesn’t mean I won’t do it in the future.  Things of this nature are better to think about, just to be absolutely certain it’s something I really want to do.  After all, it is my face, and while I have quite a few piercings there, scars are something completely different.

Time to go outside and fin a way to enjoy this beautiful weather.

Feedback Appreciated

