Crossing ‘the Line’

[Originally written 9.24.03]

Much thought has gone into this decision, inspired by reading several experiences of people who have already gone that extra mile.

What I am speaking of is facial tattoos. It is public skin and no matter what, for the rest of your existence, one of the first things people see when they look at you will be the ink on your face.

The idea came to me months ago, but I wanted to sleep on it for a while, just to make absolutely sure that this is something I would be comfortable doing.  After all, it’s not like I can go back and decide that I don’t want tattoos on my face.

The first step to take is having my eyebrows tattooed, which I have wanted to do since May.  It would be a nice b-day gift [tho that’s not for a few months yet], and it would be my very first facial tattoo, thus crossing that invisible line of “acceptable” modifications.

In my heart, I really believe that I am ready for this.  It’s only a small step in regards to the rest of the ink I have planned for my head, neck and face, but it is a giant leap compared to everything else I currently have.  In retrospect, it will be the second “extreme” mod I have gotten [having my fore arms piecred was the first], and it is something that will make me very happy.

True, I will miss drawing the eyebrows on in different ways, but once they are tattooed I will never have to put them on again.  This will come in handy if I just want to throw on some foundation, eyeliner and mascara to go out.  Overall, I see this as something I will be happy with for the rest of my life.  However, I want to be absolutely sure and find an artist who has enough talent not to make it look like I drew on some angry ‘brows with a sharpie.  Until then, I’ll just keep using make-up and dreaming of what could be.

Feedback Appreciated

