New Jersey State Fair

[Originally written on this date in 2004]

Earlier this year I had mentioned to Jon that I wanted to check out the fair at the Medowlands, and so I was certainly surprised when he reminded me about it last week.  We met up at a diner in East Rutherford, which resulted in an appropriate Hollywood Moment followed by a delicious dinner and catching up since it has been a while since we last hung out.  Then we climbed into his Chevy and were transported to an amazing atmosphere.

There are not too many places left where you can pay a dollar to see something great.  We hit up ever single-0 without a single moment of hesitation, smiles plastered across our faces and hands clutched tightly when we entered with excitement.  There was the World’s Smallest Horse, the World’s Largest Horse, Snake Girl, Gorilla Girl, the World’s Smallest Woman and a tent full of other sideshow stuff.  Have to say that I really liked those tents, and of course it gave us a lot of  inspiration.  Come to think of it, we have not done any sort of sideshow this year, and I wonder if it is because I am too wrapped up in my own life and do not pursue it as much as I have in the past.  When I saw how much money those people were making, especially off rubes, it reminded me of what Jon and I used to be able to pull in.

There were many moments during the evening where I wanted to ask him why we were not performing as much as we used to.  Then I remembered that time was being spent on road trips and generally enjoying each other’s company instead.  However, I could not help but noticed the look in his eyes when we waited on line for those single-o’s.  No matter what, Jon and I are still Carnies and understand what it is like to make that kind of money.  It may not be what motivates us to put ourselves at risk for entertainment, but it sure helps when we have big plans and need a means of funding them.

We enjoyed listening to the clown at the dunk tank insult people while they tried to get him wet, and even came across a small private collection of pristine classic cars.  Of course spending a significant amount of time wandering around the midway, it was difficult for us to avoid the temptation of all those unhealthy foods.  With the smell of seared animal flesh, onions, peppers, cotton candy and the like swirling in the air, I knew we would eventually find our way to one of the numerous lines.  Jon dined on a funnel cake while I orgasmed over fried Oreo’s.  Later in the evening we were also treated to a free circus, and while it was small, it was still damn good.

Thus concludes my first experience attending a State Fair, and it was utterly fantastic.

In less exciting news, I went to have my hair cut a couple of weeks ago.  Now even though I really despise this thick black jungle that lives on my head, I do not want give in and chop it off because I would really like to have a mohawk.  Out of all the people to run into at a salon, I found Jess [this I knew from Crapi] and am so happy that I finally have my own personal stylist.  She did a great job on my hair and took a razor the sides so that there wasn’t as much bulk, and then cut half an inch off the ends.   Now I can actually style it instead of just keeping it slicked back all the time.

My lobes have reached that crucial one inch mark, and I am quite proud of myself for the patience I have shown in getting to this point.  Have been told that I could possibly get to my goal size by fall, but there is no rush.  To be honest, I am a bit humbled that every time I see him, he reminds me that I have the perfect lobes to stretch.  Had to get new jewelry, as the old plugs had far too much tape on them.

Currently working on putting together some shows for Summer – after attending the fair, Jon and I agreed that we have been inactive for too long and need to remind people about the great joy of circus sideshow.

Feedback Appreciated

