Just Visiting: Part 2

[Originally written on this date in 2005]

Where to begin about getting here?

Well, I originally planned to visit last week but that was delayed due to work related issues.  For some reason, after we finished the scheduled Shocktoberfest dates, we waited for a while after tear down to pack up the items used in the sideshow so that they could be hauled out to Altoona for storage during the winter.  Since our next jump is to the tree lot, we aren’t going to be needing the second tent, banner line and other sideshow related things.

It just hit me that we aren’t going to be performing any more, and while I am looking forward to the upcoming work, I already miss waking up early in the morning to get myself stage ready and get on with daily duties.

Anyway, a few of my co-workers took the four hour journey with my bosses, while I was left here with a few others to keep an eye on everything that was left behind.  The day was spent the day smoking and watching Shallow GroundDawn of the Dead and Land of the Dead.  Around eleven I get a call that on the way back, the truck [and cause of delay mentioned above] blew its transmission, therefore stranding everyone in it three hours away.  My bosses returned later on that night – the bunkhouses were then moved, though I would have preferred to know that it was going to happen right then.  Being in bed and half asleep while you are in motion is a really strange sensation, and I was kind of pissed due to the fact several things fell that I didn’t want to have to step on or over if I needed to go to bathroom.

The new location of the bunkhouse is out in the open field by the ‘prison’, which I learned upon  waking the next morning and stepped outside to see a massive pile of animal shit sitting beside us.  Well that was just lovely.  Though aware we had to vacate the spots we had been in for over a month, the park was getting ready for its Christmas themed attractions to be open, and two tents do not exactly fit into a winter wonderland theme.

Oh, so the stranded co-workers were rescued on Monday night and returned at three in the morning.  Yesterday I had AAA tow my vehicle, which had mysteriously decided to stop working weeks ago, back to Jersey.  That was a fantastic three hour and rather quiet drive, as I had to take someone with me on account they were  the one with the AAA card.  While I do not want to get into details or specifics right now, his attitude regarding a professional relationship has been pretty shitacular, but I try my best to put that aside on account we were both asked to work the tree lot.

Now one would think that is where the adventure ended, but no.  While on 95, the tow truck driver had to make a pit stop and re-fuel.  Taking a moment to stretch out my legs, my purse must have fallen out of the truck as I discovered its absence at the driveway.  Managed to convince him to drive back out to that spot on the highway so I could locate the valued item – I did not want to lose my cell phone or driver’s license, especially with everything I had to go through just to get the damn thing back.  Fortunately I was able to find it, so at least that ended on a positive note.

Will be in Jersey for a couple more days until we head back to PA so we can all go down to Maryland to work the tree lot.  Apparently I am going to be inside a trailer making wreaths, which is definitely not the worst thing ever.  There is talk that the wages will be more than what we were getting paid weekly for the sideshow, but anything is fine by me. We have also been informed that everyone get a cash bonus at the end of the year.  My plan is start looking for an apartment or something when I return for good, as I no longer want to reside with a person who had decided they want to perform solo.  Yea, have fun what that considering I taught you everything you know, and you wouldn’t have been traveling all this time without me.

Whatever, I do not want to get caught up in those emotions right now considering I still have a job to do.  When that is over, I am unsure of what I am going to do, though I have the option of returning as a crew member of the sideshow next year.  There are no concrete plans on that end right now, and there are other possibilities to pursue depending on what the situation is like.

It feels strange being here right now, and I am at a loss of words to explain why.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love Jersey and I always will; there is so much I want to do when we return.  Life has been very interesting these past few months – I left not knowing what to expect, and that is pretty much what has been happening.  However, in having this experience I do have to wonder if this is the only thing I want to continue doing.

There are other interests that I would like to pursue, though in doing so they would interfere with choosing to travel, and I cannot deny the fact I want to discuss everything with Aaron before I make any decisions.  No matter what, I cannot see my future without him in it, and I feel as though our relationship has gotten to the point where we either need to take the next step or just go our separate ways.

In need of a shower considering I have unintentionally set a record for nine consecutive days without one and am going to have a new set of piercings added to my ears in the near future.  Speaking of mods, I recently started the process of removing built up black dye from my hair.  Thus far, I have bleached exactly once, which brought my ends to that familiar coppery red color and made my roots a pale yellow blond.  While I have actual bathroom access, I am going to do a touch up and will not have the chance to do it again until I return.  Not too worried about that since I am going to try really hard not to damage my hair in the hopes of keeping it blond for a while.

Now I am just rambling so this is going to end.

Feedback Appreciated

